Musings on Aging

growing-old-no-longer-has-to-mean-illness-physical-decline

 

 

“The more sand that has escaped from the hourglass of our life, the clearer we should see through it.”                                                         Jean-Paul Sartre

As time goes by  turning days into months and then years, many of us realize that gradually life’s clock is ticking faster than we imagined.It dawns on us that this minute we are teenagers and the next minute we are married having babies and becoming grandparents and the cycle goes on . Majority of the time, we can’t even account for how time passed.The older we get most of us go through life just merely existing and not actually living.We become complacent with life itself forgetting we have a reason for being here.According to what most religious doctrines teach man would actually have to make a detailed account of how he spent his live on earth.

Approaching each New Year, I feel different than I have felt the previous year. Reflecting back through life and I see myself looking to be a better me. I consciously try to appreciate every moment I have had. I Never really understood what life was about till  I started getting older and having my own unique experiences,lessons and the likes. As i approached each New Year, I learnt to embrace and appreciate it alongside beautiful gifts, acceptance and understanding it brings.

I get a better understanding every year that I am here for a purpose, i am supposed to tell a story.Most importantly I am stronger than I let myself think ,I can do everything I put my heart and mind to. Growing older made me realize what matters most in life and the people and things that complete me. Aging  left me with a sense of strength in my decisions, and acceptance of my imperfections.These may be one of the greatest gifts this outgoing year gave me. As I  prepare to enter into the coming New Year, I celebrate the adult me; a woman, a wife, a mom, a best friend, a daughter, a neighbor, a sister, a storyteller, and everything in between.

 

WHAT STORIES DO YOU INTEND TO TELL IN THE COMING NEW YEAR???

   “Nature gives you the face you have at twenty; it is up to you to merit the face you have at fifty.”
Coco Chanel

 

 

 

One thought on “Musings on Aging

Leave a Reply

